Jury Members

Stanislav Tomić

Stanislav Tomić (b. 1972) graduated Film and TV Directing from the Zagreb Academy of Dramatic Art.

He has directed over 40 documentary films, fiction short and medium-length films, as well as popular TV series.

His films were shown at numerous festivals, among which Sarajevo, Motovun, Teheran, Oberhausen, Edinburgh, Munich, Siena, Warsaw and Trieste. 

His first feature film, Josef (2011), an independent low-budget war film, was very well received by critics and awarded for its special effects.

His second feature, Lavina (2017), a camp and queer comedy, was the opening film of the Croatian national film festival.

This year he will enter production with his third feature film.

Mihai Fulger

Mihai Fulger has been active as a film critic since 2002.

He has been a member of the International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) since 2007, as well of the European Film Academy (EFA) since 2018.

He served as FIPRESCI Jury member in several major international film festivals (Berlin, Busan, Cluj, Gijón, Stockholm, Warsaw, etc.).

He is one of the founding editors of the quarterly “Film” magazine, published by the Romanian Filmmakers’ Union (UCIN) since 2013.

He has collaborated with numerous print and online, Romanian and international publications.

Since 2007 he has also worked, in various positions, for many film festivals in Romania.

His first individual book, the volume of interviews “The New Wave in Romanian Cinema”, was awarded the “George Littera” award, for the best film book of the year, by the Film Critics’ Association within UCIN.

He wrote texts for several collective volumes in Romanian, English and German, he translated and edited film books.

Since 2012 he has been working for the Romanian National Film Archive – the Romanian Cinematheque (ANF).

At present he is the artistic director of ANF.

Lovas Balázs

Lovas Balázs was born on the 20th of March, 1977 in Hajdúböszörmény, Hungary.

He is a screenwriter, producer and set designer.

In 1998, he received the 2nd prize of the National Independent Film Review.

In 2001, his screenplay “Gödör” won the second prize at the Hartley-Merrill International Screenwriting Competition.

In 2003, in the 34th Hungarian Film Review received the Best Young Scriptwriter Award for his work in “Teso”.

For four years he was a lecturer at Scriptwriting specialization of ELTE Film Theory.

He also taught at the University of Theater and Film Arts, the Budapest Media Institute and the Werk Academy.

He has been conducting his own course, the “Fade In Screenwriting School”, since 2005.